2019 PYC Race Committee Report

Dave Mowers Cup – Saturday, September 14, 2019

PYC hosted one race this year, the annual Dave Mowers Memorial Race which was the last regatta in the Commodore’s Cup Series. It was unfortunate that race sponsor Ann Mowers was unable to attend, her presence was missed, and all wished her well. Race Committee and sous chefs were Chris and Whit Weller. Pat Daly, Roy Briscoe and others graciously volunteered to help prepare and serve our guests.

High seas caused a postponement from 9/7 to 9/14. Unfavorable tides prohibited the usual PYC starting line, the pursuit regatta began at 11:15 at Gunboat Shoal Buoy. With seas 2-4 feet and gusts of 20 knots, sails were reefed and the winning time from Gunboat to Rye Harbor to IOS1 to gunboat (11.4 KTs) was 1:45:46 (Defiant). Entrants enjoyed an afternoon of PYC hospitality complete with chowder, hotdogs and Dark and Stormy’s from 3:00-5:00PM. In good fun, the prizes were auctioned off with proceeds going to the Portsmouth Sailing Association.

Dave Mowers Cup Results


1 Barry Larson Defiant PSA

2 Kevin Mccoole Here Comes the Sun PSA

3 George Spiecker II Aritha 2 PSA


1 Richard Hamor Racing Daylight KPYC

2 Christopher Loader Southern Cross PSA

3 Glenn McKibben Greyfax PNYC

Chris Lund and the crew of Jump

PYC’s Chris Lund has won Division S1 of this year’s Figawi aboard his J133 Jump!

Chris states:
“After 5 years of racing the Figawi each Memorial Day
we won the Division S1!
The race was roughly 27nm from Hyannis to Nantucket and we passed NYYC’s Alchemy on the last leg to win the race by a margin of just under 3 minutes.”

PYC’s Bud Myles also participated in the race on Veladare, placing 6th in Division C.